Maternity Leave, Part 1, Maternity Leave before baby

1/27/20

Last night I made the decision to start maternity leave “early” as in, before the baby gets here or before active labor. It was a very hard decision to let go of my classroom and work responsibilities. I have been preparing the classroom since last year as it was our plan to try to have a baby this year. Additionally, I’ve set up the classroom so it was ready for my long term sub every day for the last week because I’m 80% effaced, 2cm dilated, and already lost my mucus plug. It is time though for me to focus on my mind, my body, my soul, and my mental health. Maternity leave is often so focused around the baby, as it should be. However, don’t I have to have my seatbelt and oxygen mask on first before I can help another human being survive? And it’s interesting, the women around me who have had babies are the ones encouraging me to take this time. Maternity leave is also about healing myself because I have birthed the human being that I’ve been growing for the last 9 months. Why then do I feel the need to justify why I need to take this time now? What do I tell people who have been waiting for me to say, “I’m in labor!” when I’m not but I’m going on maternity leave “early” anyway? I guess that last part doesn’t really matter. I just need a basic response.

Ultimately, whatever happens or doesn’t happen in the classroom this semester doesn’t matter in 10 years. What matters is how I spent the days leading up to his birth. It matters for him and it matters for me.

One thought on “Maternity Leave, Part 1, Maternity Leave before baby

  1. It absolutely matters. YOU matter. You are birthing yourself as a mother. These last few days are your laboring the mother to life. Sleep. Make lunch slowly and eat it as slowly as you would like. Enjoy a HOT cup of tea–the whole mug while it is still warm. You are still at work mama. Every day he lives in your body is work for your body and yourself as you are becoming a mama. I wish you the very, very best. (And now is the perfect time to learn to disregard other people’s opinions and nosey questions! Be kind, for sure, but know your business is YOURS.) Big hugs.

Leave a comment